PDA

View Full Version : Close-up for dummies !

Gerry Harrison
3-Sep-2006, 09:13
Hello Gents ( and I'm sure a few Ladies ),

I'm very new to LF...so new I have not taken a shot at this point..still accumulating all the gear required to launch..80 % there. The mind starts to work while the waiting takes place so here is one question I need resolved in regards to the close up capabilties of a LF lens.I have a Schneider Symmar-s 210/5.6..the bellows I'm sure would make closeups possible..but what can I expect from this lens in this area. I have a Cambo SC-2/NX 4x5.

Thanks again Gerry

Ron Marshall
3-Sep-2006, 10:30
You will need 420 mm of bellows for 1:1. It won't be quite as sharp as a macro lens that is optimised for 1:1, but you won't see a difference if only making small enlargements.

Are you planning a shoot at Butchart Gardens?

Donald Qualls
3-Sep-2006, 14:21
For whatever it's worth, it's actually *easier* to shoot macro with a shorter lens, because you don't need as much bellows. I can easily do 1:1 with my Speed Graphic using a 135 mm lens, and I originally mounted my 105 mm Agnar with the thought of shooting some 2:1 images. Also worth noting, most process and enlarging lenses, sometimes reviled for camera use because they aren't optimized for infinity focus, will be significantly better in the range from 1:10 to 1:1 (even as close as 10:1 in some process lenses) than a landscape-optimized photographic lens. For instance, a Componon might well outperform your Symmar-S for distances of a few feet or less...