PDA

View Full Version : Phillips Compact II 8x10 Camera

Linhof
31-Aug-2006, 23:19
I am studying to buy a Phillips Compact II 8x10 camera. Could you give me some advices?

The lenses that I am using is SA 160mm & 210mm, normal 300mm, 480mm, 600mm and 760mm. I shoot citycape and landcape photos all the time.

Since bellow could not be changed, is it easy to make camera movement when using wide angle lenses?

Does it accept Sinar lens broad?

How much does it cost and where could I buy?

Bill_1856
1-Sep-2006, 06:27
My advice is to prime yourself for disappointment -- Phillips has stopped taking orders and plans to quit the business (acording to the web).

Bruce Schultz
1-Sep-2006, 07:34
As an alternative, you might look at a Wehman. If Bruce Wehman doesn't have any in inventory, they aren't easy to find, but well worth the effort to locate one. Not quite as lightweight at Phillips but 4 kilos isn't bad, and they are very sturdy.

raucousimages
1-Sep-2006, 08:27
Look at a canham also. Good cameras and lighter than my Toyo.

Oren Grad
1-Sep-2006, 09:10
Dick Phillips is building one last batch of 8x10 Compact II cameras this year. After that, he plans to build only 8x10 Explorers (horizontal only) and 4x5s.

If you're seriously interested, you should contact Dick and get on his waiting list. Sometimes someone on his list backs out and he's able to allocate a camera to someone who missed the initial order window.

The Compact II can easily handle a 165 SA. And yes, it does accept Sinar boards.

George Hart
1-Sep-2006, 09:54
I have never seen let alone used one, but the Shen-Hao FCL810-A looks interesting, and it appears to be based on the Phillips design.

Oren Grad
1-Sep-2006, 10:30
Oops - something I should have thought of before posting my reply: the problem you'll have with a Compact II isn't with your wide angle lenses, it's with your long glass. The bellows draw on current-production Compact II cameras is about 26", or 660mm.

Amund BLix Aaeng
1-Sep-2006, 10:46