PDA

View Full Version : Greetings

keithwms
29-Aug-2006, 08:39
So, I always forget to do these intro things when I join a forum, sorry about that. :)

I am Keith and I am a physicist with a research lab who one day decided that since I had invested heavily in my education in optics that I really should pick up a camera.

Needless to say, my stuff is mostly of a scientific nature. My first experience with LF film was developing images from an electron microscope! In the lab I am highly digital, but in my life out of the lab, I am still very much devoted to film.

So I am pretty sciencey, but I do have a lot of more conventional artistic interests and my explorations have taken me through all manner 35mm equipment, TLRs and rangefinders, in and out of digital, and finally into medium and large format.

My favourite tools right now are probably my medium format rangefinders, but I also like the LF oldies, such as a crown graphic that I am now adapting for some new projects. Basically there isn't any aspect of photography that doesn't interest me.

Unlike many of you, I am not at all in the "biz" - no site, no gallery, no plans to sell, no business card, though I do sell a few things here and there if somebody asks. I make my living doing optical spectroscopy and teaching at the university level. I definitely don't have time to do a lot of photography but I try to fit in photography whenever I can. I thoroughly enjoy shooting b&w and doing my own printing and toning.

Too much information?!

Keith

Eric Biggerstaff
29-Aug-2006, 09:04
Welcome and hope you enjoy the forum.

darr
29-Aug-2006, 12:11
Hi Keith,