PDA

View Full Version : Antique/vintage portrait lenses

Paul Coppin
4-Aug-2006, 14:19
I'm trying to get my head around the use of turn of the century (ok, for you youngsters, that means 1900...:)) portrait lenses. Looking through my facsimile 1908 sears catalogue I see several lens-shutter units available, Conley astigmat etc., but no shutters sold separately. The catalogue does list, however a Seroco portrait lens, in a variety of plate sizes. This lens isn't shipped with a shutter.
How were these used in the studio? Did the relatively slow speed of a studio mean portraits were always in seconds, and thus perhaps done manually (cap over lens, etc), or was a packard shutter used behind the lens board? The apparent absence of standalone shutters at retail suggest that they may not have been sold separately from lenses at that time...
Anyone fill me in?

scott_6029
4-Aug-2006, 22:27
I am no expert, but you can use the lenses manually, with a cap, or use a packard shutter. You can even purchase packard shutters new on their website, but used ones are available. Some lenses (not sure when studio shutters came in to be) have studio shutters that work pneumatically with a bulb - that's what I use, an old verito in a studio shutter - I really like the effect of this lens for a variety of subjects including portrait.

Glenn Thoreson
5-Aug-2006, 17:46
In a 1900 studio setting, the exposure could well run into seconds.

snuck
5-Aug-2006, 18:45
I actually used the lenscap method with an old brass Taylor Hobson Rapid Rectillinear with some polaroid. It works well. It also helps amuse those who are having their portrait taken. Be prepped for a darkroom disaster though.

Cheers-vic

David A. Goldfarb
5-Aug-2006, 19:03
I've seen photographs of nineteenth-century photographers using the darkslide in the plateholder as a shutter.