PDA

View Full Version : Stand Development

Rick Obermeyer
28-Mar-2000, 10:47
Hello, As a MF shooter (with a LF in the closet collecting dust), I have used the Photographers' Formulary FX2 developer in a 1 hour stand development process for my mf films. This seems to work well for me and has provided some excellent negatives. I was wonder if this same method could be applied to LF film also. I'm enjoying this site the more I read. I'm almost to the point of pulling the LF out of the closet and heading outside with it. I would like to read a bit more on development to try and decide which is better, tray or tank! Thanks for your thoughts concerning stand development and LF films. Rick

David_892
29-Mar-2000, 15:19
I have little experience in LF developing but I'd suggest Tank developing if you do not have a 100% light tight darkroom or space, otherwise go for the tray process, it is much cheaper.

Erik Ryberg
29-Mar-2000, 15:25
Rick,

I've played around a little bit with stand developing. I'm not sure why, just because it intrigued me. I never got to the point of being able to use it effectively. Somebody named Sandy King who hangs out at rec.photo.darkroom on USENET seems to have done quite a bit. Sandy recommends to me using pvc tubes plugged with caps set on end. Says the thing about leaving the film flat is a myth if I remember right. Also recommends one or two quick inversions half way through.

I used extremely dilute Rodinal.

N Dhananjay
29-Mar-2000, 18:25
Anchell and Troop 'The film Developing Cookbook' has some information on stand development. The 'no-agitation' might lead one to think of fairly extreme highlight starvation but thanks to interlayer agitation (sort of like diffusion), you get almost normal contrast. However, micro gradation is supposed to be quite different.