PDA

View Full Version : Technika GG Protector

Scott Rosenberg
1-Aug-2006, 10:18
if i were so inclined to permanently remove the folding focusing hood from my technika, what then would make an adequate GG protector? there's no way to secure a flat one like the ebony or arca, and i don't think the 'u' shaped ones like canham would fit.

any ideas?

robc
1-Aug-2006, 10:26
uh? the folding focussing hood serves as a GG protector. Why would would you want to replace it with something else? Weight saving would be minimal.

Bob McCarthy
1-Aug-2006, 10:29
I tend to agree with Scott. I find the tunnel effect of the hood doesn't give me the full overview and tends to focus me on the frame center. It's tough to step back a little and see the whole composition at once. I'm new to the camera, but taking the protector on and off is wearing the gg frame. I've thought about removing the leather portion.

Bob

Frank Petronio
1-Aug-2006, 10:35
The flip horizontal hinge on the Linhof hood is so nice that I wouldn't change it. But on my old Tech IV I had a Crown Graphic metal hood installed and it was the best of all worlds - a good solid metal hood that could easily be flipped out of the way. Boy I was dumb to sell that camera...

http://frankpetronio.com/archive/love_of_linhof.html

Ted Harris
1-Aug-2006, 10:36
But why permanently remove it, tunnel effect or not. I can't speak for the TEchnika but I can for the Horseman FA and the Toyo AII. I actually like the folding hood. I have a loupe that is longenough to work inside it and it is so easy to take off when I want to use a regular darkcloth. When I want to travel with as little photo gear as possible then the hood is terrific. They all come off with a spring loaded pivot as far as I know.

Scott Rosenberg
1-Aug-2006, 11:23
i am considering this for two reasons mainly...
1. like bob, I find that the hood limits my ability to see the entire gg
2. I use a relatively short sylvestri 6x loupe