PDA

View Full Version : *yawn* yet another newbie, though i ask more stupid questions

Inverse
31-Jul-2006, 09:40
Hello all

I'm new to this game, and don't have a LF camera yet (currently shooting 35mm rangefinder & 6x6 TLR). However, I want one...

I don't have much in the way of cash - god damn those banks for wanting me to pay student loans back! - so wanting to acquire something that is cheap but still decent. I realise this is potentially something of an oxymoron, or i'm a moron for thinking that.

Hence, do I get a $400 crown graphic from a seller on ebay, or look around for something else?

I'm not dying to get a field camera, as most of what I do (with the LF at least) will be inside... One thing I do want is the capacity to use polaroid film, so I guess it will need to take that back...

Comments/suggestions/insults/witty retorts all welcome.

Cheers in advance

G

Kevin Crisp
31-Jul-2006, 09:56
Cheap but still decent is a realistic goal. What do you want to take photos of? Are you wanting to hike long distances with the camera, use it indoors only, or something else? Tell us what you want to do and you can probably do it within budget. $400, by the way, is steep for a Crown Graphic unless it has an unusual lens.

Inverse
31-Jul-2006, 10:02
Ah sorry.... Well i'm interested in shooting outdoors but not necessarily with the LF.

I think therefore that I'd prefer to be doing indoor work with it - probably portraits & Nudes. I hope that helps.

I'm quite fearful of being a niave buyer, so I wanted to get someone's opinion before taking the plunge on the graphic.

Sheldon N
31-Jul-2006, 10:05
I'm sure there's lots of suggestions out there for field camera's vs. monorails, etc, so a little reading up isn't a bad idea to make sure you get what you want.

I do happen to have some gear for sale if you're interested that sounds like it might suit your needs. Some of it I haven't gotten around to posting in the FS forum yet, one of the lenses is already there.