PDA

View Full Version : NegPos vs. Silverfast HDR

Chad Shindel
29-Jul-2006, 21:38
I'm a little new to this, but I am really interested in the concept of these two programs. Firstly, let me ask those of you who use either of these a question. Is what I need to get started with both of these only a 16bit linear raw scan? This means I wouldn't have to do any color correcting at the time of scanning? I just basically have to set the scanning software to deliver a truely linear 16bit Raw scan? So I can just scan away and then get to "processing" the scans whenever I want, without having to have a scanner around. Is this any different than letting the scanner software "process" the image, other than I can do the "processing" at my leisure? What are the real differences between NegPos and HDR? What is the real differnces between these two and doing the processing at the time of scanning with the scanning software? In an early post there was mention by Julian that Kirk found Silverfast to be better once the calibration was done? Can either of you expand on this? What does the calibration entail, and is it necessary for scanning color negatives? For those of you who use either of these, do they seem to work better than the scanning software? Are there any other software programs that function in a similiar way? If these work as good as they sound, then all I would have to do at the scanning stage is learn how to get a truely 16bit linear raw scan from whatever scanning software I am using. Thanks in advance for you help.

Tom Westbrook
30-Jul-2006, 03:45