PDA

View Full Version : Wishing to get a start in LF photography

tjhaefner
24-Jul-2006, 17:01
I am a serious amateur photographer who feels that my vision and subject matter may be maligned by my current digital tools. IN many ways, I want to become more deliberate and slow down the pace of what I am doing. I am a little apprehensive in additional investment yet more equipment and returning to the darkroom. Invariably, I would like to insert a little digital into the process (scanning the final negative, perhaps) for the purpose of limiting my darkroom expenses, etc.

Is there someone you can refer me to that might be of assistance in this matter? Is there anyway I could perhaps rent any LF equipment first before buying?

Thanks,

Jack Haefner

The Haefner's
www.jackhaefner.com
www.jackhaefner-photography.com

John Kasaian
24-Jul-2006, 17:40
A good place to start is a copy of Steve Simmons' Using The View Camera

Check with your local college to see if they offer a course that will permit you to use their large format cameras. If not, unless you live in a major (often very major) metropolitan area there would be little chance of renting gear from a local business, though if you have a week end to devote to the cause you might find a workshop where you could get hands on experience.

If niether are likely options, get a Calumet metal monorail with a decent lens and a few holders for very few $$ and go fo it!

Scott Knowles
24-Jul-2006, 19:33
Since I'm only starting in 4x5 (doing 35mm for 37 years) I'll add my experience researching getting into LF photography. Besides Steve Simmons' book, I'll add reading Jim Stone's book "A User's Guide to the View Camera", Leslie Stroebel's "View Camera Technique", and Jack Dykinga's "Large Format Nature Photography" books, talk to a few LF photographers, and visit a store with LF cameras. Nothing beats the voice of experience and hands-on's. Good luck.