PDA

View Full Version : new to LF..

dietcookie
23-Jul-2006, 22:30
Hi there..i've been thinking about getting a LF camera, i've been reading a bit and there are just so many selections. Well first off I currently shoot with an EOS 3/10D and a RB67 if that helps at all. I am still a student, hoping to make something out of my self in photo.

I have always digged square crops so it was either a Hasselblad or a 4x5. I know about the Shen-Hao SH612 roll film holder so I can shoot multiple crops (including 6x6!!) so thats perfect. I guess the only discriminating factor is I need a 4x5 that can be used that that back or a back similar to it. I shoot alot of landscape type stuff so 6x6 + all movements is a dream come true.

Any ideas on which one(s) I should narrow it down to, perhaps something light that I can bring with me backpacking... ..

Capocheny
23-Jul-2006, 23:01
Dietcookie,

You can buy literally ANY large format camera and accomplish a square format. All you need to do is to mask off the ground glass and frame your images inside the masked area. Imagine a 4"x4" square format on a sheet of 4x5!

So, what it gets down to... is your budget.

If you want to start off economically... try a Shen-hao, Tachihara, Wista, or any of a number of similar cameras. The Shen-hao is a very good place to start.

You'll also need to decide on what focal lengths you like shooting with... that will determine what length of bellows you need and, thus, the camera.

It's a new journey but can be a LOT of fun! :)

Good luck on your decision.

Cheers

Darin Boville
23-Jul-2006, 23:14
Hi,

What is your budget for the camera? You say you are a student which implies low budget, but then again you sound like a photography student so maybe you are willing/able to spend $$$ on this. No need to start out cheap, if you don't need to... as long as you buy smart you can usually resell stuff near to what you paid for it...

--Darin

dietcookie
24-Jul-2006, 00:31
Thanks for the responses guys.