PDA

View Full Version : Shooting transparency film - advice needed

Curtis Nelson
19-Jul-2006, 08:20
Hi all,

I've been shooting 4x5 b&w for about 4 years now. About two weeks ago I was in Tom Till's gallery in Moab, UT and was amazed at some of his color prints, so I got to thinking about giving color a try. I was thinking about buying a new Fuji Quickload film holder and a sinlge box of Velvia quickloads to start things off. The reason I'm going with the quickloads is I only have 4 film holders, and I like to keep those stocked with Tri-X.

Here's some questions:

1. Is this a good way to begin?
2. What would be the best film to start with? Velvia? Provia?
3. About how much do labs charge for processing 4x5 transparency film?

Thanks,

Curtis

Larry Mendenhall
19-Jul-2006, 08:45
I was thinking about buying a new Fuji Quickload film holder and a sinlge box of Velvia quickloads to start things off.
Curtis

Hi, Curtis

If you want to leave your options for film open, I'd suggest getting the Kodak or Polaroid holder over the Fuji Quickload. Both the Kodak and Polaroid holders will accept Fuji film, but I'm 95 percent sure the Quickload holder only accepts Fuji film. I'm sure others will correct me if I'm wrong.

The lab I currently use charges about $2.50 for processing transparency film. Hopefully there's a lab in your area that will do it for you.

Good luck!

Larry

BrianShaw
19-Jul-2006, 08:53
Curtis, I'm in similar situation. I've only shot 4 sheets of LF E-6 in the past 25 years. I, too, plan on shooting more color but will likely go for color negative film. The transparency, though, is SO impressive to look at!

Rather than a QL holder, I'm more interested in using it in Polaroid 545 holder. I believe I read that it can be done. For one thing, I already have a 545, but if I were starting out I'd also be thinking about versatility. Perhaps others with experience can straighten me out if this is not good thinking!