PDA

View Full Version : Newton or rainbow rings on a 60cm Apo-Skopar?

Hugo Zhang
18-Jul-2006, 12:58
I have just bought a 60cm apo-skopar lens from an antique store from internet. It has rainbow rings on both front and back eleements. The rings on the rear are about 1/4" around the edge, the front ones cover almost 1/3 of the lens, pretty bad. I know this means lens seperation and I also know from what I read from here that this problem is common with this lens. I have never used lenses with seperations before. I bought this lens for my 10x20 banquet camera and wanted to use it in barrel and contact print only. My question is: Is this lens is usable? My instinct is to retrun the lens, but I think I will get some advice from those of you who know better. Thanks.

Arne Croell
18-Jul-2006, 13:32
I have just bought a 60cm apo-skopar lens from an antique store from internet. It has rainbow rings on both front and back eleements. The rings on the rear are about 1/4" around the edge, the front ones cover almost 1/3 of the lens, pretty bad. I know this means lens seperation and I also know from what I read from here that this problem is common with this lens. I have never used lenses with seperations before. I bought this lens for my 10x20 banquet camera and wanted to use it in barrel and contact print only. My question is: Is this lens is usable? My instinct is to retrun the lens, but I think I will get some advice from those of you who know better. Thanks.

It will be useable - there might be some extra flare due to the additional partial surfaces. The correction of the lens should not be affected, as the distance of the elements has only increased by a few hundred nanometers - as shown by the interference colors. Of course have an eye on the front element in case it decides to separate fully. I don't know what you paid, but the main effect might be on resale value, and the price should have been low.

Hugo Zhang
18-Jul-2006, 17:26
Arne,