PDA

View Full Version : Shopping for a new head

MarshallS
15-Jul-2006, 14:05
So I'm looking into a new head for use of my 8x10 cambo sc, I like the price range of the majestics as I'm not looking to drop a grand on an arca swiss so out of curiosity whats everyone usin- Likes/dislikes best places to order from. As always oppinions are appreciated.

Capocheny
15-Jul-2006, 14:37
If you have the opportunity to look at a Manfrotto Geared Head Model 400... that's what I would recommend.

It's what I've been using with my Sinar X for the past 5 years.

The geared head is absolutely great for fine adjustments... no muss, no fuss!

And, it won't cost you a grand either. :)

As to where you can buy one of these babies...

new - MidWest Photo Exchange or Badger Graphics;

used - the big auction site. In fact, there's a Bogen version on there right now:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=018&item=280005809722&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1

Good luck on the bidding if you choose to jump in on it!

Cheers

Jack Flesher
16-Jul-2006, 08:55
Well, it's not cheap but is less than a grand -- I like the Arca B2 as it is relatively compact and allows independant axis adjustment, yet is sturdy enough to hold the largest view cameras.

And since I just bought that one for myself, I do have a very servicable Majestic I'll sell resonably if you are interested ;) A bit scruffy on the outside, but still smooth and tight -- say $215 shipped and PayPal'd inside the US?

MarshallS
16-Jul-2006, 09:36
When you say servicable does that mean theres problems with any of the mechanics/gears/shifts? Also what make, plate and year?

Brian Ellis
16-Jul-2006, 09:37