PDA

View Full Version : 7x17 Film Developed in Pyrocat HD for Dummies

Jeff Sylvia
14-Jul-2006, 09:00
I'm a rank amateur just starting to figure out how to shoot/develop/print 7x17 using Pyrocat HD and then print the negs using Pt/Pd printing methods. I've read a lot of posts here and a few books (i.e., Book of Pyro, Dick Arentz's book, Sandy Kings articles, etc...) but I am wondering if someone has a simplified step-by-step for a beginner like me who just wants to shoot some film, develop it and then make some Pt/Pd prints. Once I get the process down I can fine tune for film speed adjustment, developing times etc...

So, does someone have the "Powerpoint bullet list" with answers for the following questions?

1) Do I set my meter to the rated film speed? (e.g., I'm using Ilford HP5 Plus so do I set my meter for a film speed of 400?)
2) If #1 is true then what is my development time using Pyrocat HD? I'll develop sheets in 16x20 trays.
3) How much developer will I need per sheet of 7x17?

As I said, I just want to get out and shoot, develop, print so I can see results then fine tune the process as needed. I just need ballpark "settings" to get started. I can get more sophisticated as I learn.

Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks
Jeff

Ken Lee
14-Jul-2006, 10:19
Do you want to learn only about exposing and developing the film, or also about making Pt/Pd prints ? The two are not unrelated, but they are 2 different subjects.

You might find it helpful to schedule a one-on-one "workshop" with someone in your area, or attend a workshop it the timing is right.

For example, Carl Weese (http://www.carlweese.com) teaches at his facility in Connecticut, but is also willing to teach you at your own place. I studied Platinum printing with him this way, and he's very very good. He gives excellent advice on what you will need, and where to get it.

Jeff Sylvia
16-Jul-2006, 03:20