PDA

View Full Version : 3 step E6 vs 6 step E6

Craig Griffiths
11-Jul-2006, 14:48
I am new to processing but have no issues with processing black and white. I use a Jobo ATL 500 processor so everything is fairly automated.

MY 2 questions though are as follows:

1. What are the benefits/disadvantages of a 3 step vs 6 step process for E6. MY main E6 film is Velvia 100 (now the original has gone) and I was wondering if anyone has used a 3 step process successfully and what potential problems I should look out for.

2. HAs anyone has used an ATL 500 successfully for E6 processing and what potential problems I should look out for.

E6 processing is about $8 per sheet here ($6 if I send it interstate) so I am looking at ways of reducing costs in order to shoot more.

Any assistance greatly appreciated

Craig Griffiths

David A. Goldfarb
11-Jul-2006, 14:59
I've used the Tetenal 3-bath chemistry in inversion tanks, which is good for normal processing and one-stop push, in my experience.

If you want more push/pull control, I'd recommend using the 6-step process.

Larry Gebhardt
12-Jul-2006, 05:37
I have been using the Tetenal 3 bath kits for several years with good results. I am going to switch to the Kodak 6 bath kit however because it does not contain a final stabilizer step. The stabilizer in the Tetenal kit contains formaldehyde and I just don't trust its safety. Plus it is a pain to do the final rinse out of the drums.

Andre Noble
12-Jul-2006, 06:15
You might also check the Color Film & Processing forum on photonet. There is a former chemical engineer from Kodak, Roland Mowrey, who will give you the real deal.

He's recomended before the 6 step for permanence, quality, etc.

ronald moravec
14-Jul-2006, 12:19
Use the 6 step Kodak. I have had very good luck using it a one shot and the components can be purchased separately so when the developer goes, buy just that.

The colors I got from 3 step Tetenol were dull compared to Kodak.