PDA

View Full Version : A quick hello and a few questions!

Ash
11-Jul-2006, 05:18
Hey all,

Sorry about such a huge post for my first one on the forum!

I've been using RangeFinderForum for a couple months, and recently logged into APUG, but I was recommended here by a few members of RFF.

I'm pretty competent with 35mm (slr, rf) and medium format (tlr) and of course dslr as well. I dug out my mother's very old Perken, Son & Rayment 10x8 Optimus camera which is missing its original lens, and purchased myself a Ross Xpres 8 1/2inch lens for it. Pretty pleased with those results (2 good negs, but I can't contact print until the enlarger is setup).

The camera is huge, and very heavy (see the photo links I've posted http://www.apug.org/forums/showthread.php?t=29431 if you like.. sorry to force you all to migrate to see the images), so I was looking for a 4x5 or 5x7.

First plan, I have basic carpentry/jack-of-all-trades skills and with a few tools I could make myself the camera, but bellows are the main thing I'm missing. If I can't make a wooden-box folding camera, I thought again that a monorail "spares/repair" jobby might be good and then buy some bellows as well.

Whilst looking for bellows and all sorts, I sourced this item on *bay - item number 120006124587. Won it last night for £22 + £10 postage.

Has anyone got any ideas about these Houghton-Butcher (?) "Popular Ensign" reflex cameras? I was hoping this thing would be bigger than it probably will be, but there are no websites with information on the phenomena. I'm hoping it doesnt arrive and be about the size of a kodak brownie!!