PDA

View Full Version : Distortion?

DrPablo
10-Jul-2006, 19:11
I've been trying to take some cityscapes with my 90mm f/5.6 Super Angulon and my 210mm f/5.6 APO Symmar. I seem to be getting a lot of strange distortion near the edge of the image with both lenses. I took a shot of one of the towers in Boston today and the straight vertical edge took a sharp turn towards the corner (this was with the 90), and something similar happened with the 210. It looks more like a pincushion effect than anything else. I don't have any scans to share.

Is this something that is the product of an intrinsic lens problem? I thought that distortion like this would be exceedingly unlikely with LF lenses.

Paul Fitzgerald
11-Jul-2006, 07:11
Hi there,

Not being funny but was the film installed in the holder correctly? Were either or both of the lenses dropped? They both have really fine reputations.

Just a thought.

DrPablo
11-Jul-2006, 07:17
I'm an LF newbie, so nothing should be taken for granted :)

I picked up a very lightly used kit, including these two lenses, from a studio photographer. He only used the camera and lenses for a few shots and only in the studio. So they've been pretty well cared for (and certainly haven't been dropped while in my custody).

As far as loading the film, I'm not sure how many ways there are to screw up putting a polaroid back in front of the ground glass as long as the emulsion is facing the right way, but if there are other ways to screw it up I'm sure I'll figure it out :)

Perhaps I should be very careful to ensure that the monorail is horizontal and I'm not dealing with perspective distortion that becomes more apparent at the edge of the frame.

Paul Fitzgerald
11-Jul-2006, 07:27
" a polaroid back in front of the ground glass "

Try it with regular holders and film to see if it is a problem with the camera. Sometimes a polaroid back does not press the film into place correctly, gremlins.