PDA

View Full Version : Venturing into 4x5

Helena
9-Jul-2006, 05:27
Hi! I'm glad to have found this forum.

I am a professional portrait photographer, but am using only digital means for my business. However, on the side, I do what I really love, which is landscape work (much easier to make money on portraiture than on landscapes, unfortunately). I currently have been using my MF gear (Hasselblad 503W) for most of my landscape photography, but for quite some time, have been wanting to get my hands on a 4x5.

So here is my loaded question. Which 4x5? :D Actually I have narrowed it down to two - the Ebony 45SU or the Linhof MT 2000. I have read, researched, and read some more, and understand on paper what the disadvantages and advantages are for these two cameras (I think). I know it may be unfair to compare these two, since one is a tech camera and the other a field, but indulge me if you may.

What I'm hoping is for someone who have experiences with these two cameras to tell me their thoughts.

One request - please don't tell me to try a cheaper 4x5 first, etc. I also do not want to go bigger, eg. 8x10, etc.

Thanks so much - your help is much appreciated. I am dying to get my hands on one of these cameras but cannot decide on which one. And no, I cannot afford to buy both!

- Helena

Wayne Crider
9-Jul-2006, 08:51
Welcome Helena. Although I cannot comment on either camera, there are people who will come after me to tell you what you need to know. Have you been able to try out any cameras in the field? Sometimes a little experience with a rental or friends clunker is worth a thousand words. Beyond that, nice to have you aboard.

John Jarosz
9-Jul-2006, 08:56
Hi Helena,
If you haven't already, you may want to read some of the thoughts here:
http://www.photographyreview.com/cat/cameras/film-cameras/large-format/linhof/PRD_83166_3106crx.aspx

They are for the most part positive reviews, but there are come comments worth reading between the lines on.