PDA

View Full Version : Lens screen for sinar F2

Jean Nightingale
2-Jul-2006, 08:08
Hello everyone,
I am a new member and would like some basic advice. I am at college doing a degree in photography and this last semester I learned how to use a large format 5x4 camera.
I was borrowing the college camera but I was so taken with the results I got of large church interiors that I decided to buy my own camera. I bought off e-bay a f4.5 90mm. rebadged rodenstock lens which has shutter copal 0. I have also bought a sinar f2 camera. It looks really nice, however, there is no lens screen. What do I do next? Do I simply look for a 0 screen for a sinar camera.Are they a standard size for all. Will I then be able to put the lens into the screen myself. Sorry but I am still learning about these cameras. Thanks in advance Jean

steve simmons
2-Jul-2006, 09:55
I think you are looking for what we in the US would call a lens board. I would contact Robert White in Poole and see if he has one.

sales@robertwhite.co.uk

steve simmons
www.viewcamera.com

Capocheny
2-Jul-2006, 12:20
Jean,

A lensboard for a Sinar is a very common thing on that "big auction site" and you'll be able to pick one up for a very reasonable price.

Otherwise, if buying new, they're not the cheapest things in the world (US$95.00)!

One other thing, ALL lensboards are NOT interchangeable between camera manufacturers. For example, a Horseman board will fit a Sinar camera but will not fit a Linhof.

If the lens is a Copal 0 then you'll need a lensboard with the opening size to accept a Copal 0 lens. A Copal 1, 2, or 3 opening will be far too big for your lens. As for mounting it yourself, if you have the right lensboard and there's a retaining ring on the back of the lens, yes, you can mount it yourself. Just do the following:

1. Remove the retaining ring from the back of the lens,

2. Unscrew the rear element from the shutter,