PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Indiana

Michael Daily
26-Jun-2006, 18:21
Having read and occaisionally posted, I think it is time I introduce myself: Michael Daily. I have been involved, off and on, in photography since 1966, when a friend asked me to become a HS yearbook photographer. In 1972 I was admitted to the MFA program at Indiana Univ. and finished in 1976. I am currently an English teacher in a nearby town and several years ago through a grant was able to purchase a Deardorff 8x10 and a Comm Ektar to do some backpacking in Rocky Mtn Nat Park. I have owned and used a Busch Presman Model D 4x5 and Leicas since the early '70s, but now even the Busch feels like a small camera. I work strictly in B/W and mostly with a 5x7 D and 210mm, 5.6 Apo Symmar. Thanks for all of the info that I have gotten over the last couple of years that I have been reading. It is a humbling experience to join such a group.
Michael

Capocheny
26-Jun-2006, 19:12
Hello Michael,

Welcome to the forum. :)

How are you enjoying the 5x7? Great format isn't it? I've got a 5x7 Dorff with 4x5 reducing back. Great fun... and easier to carry than the 8x10 by a long ways! :)

I'm also a Leica M shooter but have gravitated more and more toward the larger sized formats over the past several years. Not that I don't enjoy the Leica but... it's just different.

Anyway... welcome! :)

Cheers

Michael Daily
26-Jun-2006, 19:25