PDA

View Full Version : Nabokov's "Glory"

John Kasaian
16-Jun-2006, 21:16
A novel I bought off the remainder table over 20 years ago still occupies a place in my book case. I was going through the book case to find items to put in our yard sale for tomorrow morning and I thought briefly of putting Glory in the box, but then I remembered why I had kept it all these years and more importantly why I liked it.

The novel is about a russian emegre (most Nabokov novels are of course---He wrote about the kinds of people He was familiar with) and one of the recurring themes involves a painting in the main character's nursery, hung where he could see it from his crib---it is a landscape, a trail dissppearing into a forest.

To my way of thinking it could have easily been a photograph but what the hey, I'm a lousy painter. So to continue---

References to the painting periodically pop up in the story and eventually the main character sneaks back into his homeland (and his destiny) from, I think Finland. He recognizes the trail he is taking as the same one in the painting in his nursery.

In Nabokov's autobiography He relates an early memory of seeing a model of either a ship or train in the window of a travel agency in a big city. The model is cut away, showing all the detailed little compartments where traveler's would have been staying.

I guess it is progress that everyone can book their own travel plans on the internet and travel agencies with elaborate window displays are thing of history---but I still remember those models, especially the cutaways.