PDA

View Full Version : Lightzone - Anyone Using It?, etc.

David Karp
14-Jun-2006, 12:30
Hi,

I read about Lightzone in a recent Photo Techniques Mag and it sounded interesting. I have used Photoshop and have some minimal skill with it, but I have never really taken to digital image processing. After checking the Lightzone website (http://www.lightcrafts.com/), the program seems kind of interesting, and much more like the process of working with traditional photographic materials. I have some projects I would like to do that lend themselves to digital, so I was wondering if anyone has experience with Lightzone, how they feel about it, and any other related tips.

Thanks in advance.

Dave Karp

Ted Harris
14-Jun-2006, 14:08
I have been testing Lightzone for about two months and so far I am very impressed. It is not as full featured as Photoshop but so what? It does not appear to miss any of the features that a photographer needs to process his/her image. Additionally, it does not buden you with all sorts of potential manipulations that are meant for graphic artists/designers as opposed to photographers. Lars Vinberg, one of the designers of the Software is a regular contributor to this forumn and I imagine he will chime in soon.

The beauty of Lightzone is that it is very intuitive for those who are well versed in the Zone System as that is the paradigm it uses for image manipulation. We demonstrated it at our last scanning workshop and again at the View Camera Conference workshop. In both instances those who were intimidated by Photoshop loved Lightzone instantly, those who were comfortable with Photoshop took more of a wait-and-see attitude. Some, those who are data oriented and engineering types prefer Photoshop's ability to deal easily with numerical values.

For my part, I have not yet abandoned Photoshop in favor of Lightzone but I suspect tht I will eventually do so. You can download a 30 day free trial that is fully functional .... you should do so.