PDA

View Full Version : Coverage of Protar VII Convertable 485-600?

Hugo Zhang
14-Jun-2006, 08:44
I need help from those who have experience with Protar convertables. I am looking at this lens made by Bausch & Lomb. It is a Protar VII with the front cell of 485mm and back cell of 600mm. I want to know if this lens covers my 10x20 camera. I have searched the internet and numbers are all over the place, from 11x14 to 20x24. I have some experience with Dagors and Artars, but have not used Protar lenses. Image quality? Fair price I should be paying if it covers? Thanks.

N Dhananjay
14-Jun-2006, 09:34
The usual coverage figure quoted for Protar VIIs is about 75 degrees for the combined lens. If I remember correctly, 19" and 24" elements combine to yield a focal length of about 12". A 12" lens with a 75 degree coverage angle would yield an image circle of somewhere in the 18" range. Your 10 X 20 camera has a diagonal of about 22" - so, I'd say the lens would fall short of covering. The single cells have much smaller coverage angles. The 24" may just about cover but I doubt the 19" would. I'd suggest you look for longer focal lengths - I know there was a 16" or so focal length made by combining two 28" elements, which would do the trick, although using the 28" single cells requires a pretty long bellows (well in the 30" + range).

As a comparison to your Dagors and Artars, Protar VIIs are quite similar to Dagors but have somewhat lower coverage. The single cells of Protars tend to perform better than single cells of Dagors because the individual cells of Protars are corrected for coma. The performance of Protars is pretty good when used unconverted (i.e., with both front and rear elements) - single element performance is not as good