PDA

View Full Version : Iran - again

cyrus
14-Jun-2006, 08:40
(OK, the last time I tried to post this, it was lost in the electronic ether, so here's my second attempt)

I'm new to LF photography -- I have mostly used a medium format Zeiss Ikon from my grandfather's days -- so this was the first trip I had taken with a Super Speed Graphic and tripod. The destination was Iran. Getting there with the camera gear was no problem -- usual hassle with the swabbing etc at the US airport, and the multiple xrays of carryon luggage at Paris CDG airport. I was starting to get concerned about the number of times the film was zapped.

Anyway, no problems taking photographs in Iran using tripods. The only time I ran into a problem was at a skiing resort just north of Tehran called Tochal. The city is surrounded by massive mountains, and despite the stereotype, it snows quite a bit in Iran. Tehran residents regularly go to the mountains to hike during the summers, or ski during the winters. You can catch a lift from northern Tehran and be skiing in a few minutes, though the slopes aren't as challenging there as the professional-grade slopes at the more distant resort at Dizin or Shemshak (2.5-hour drive).

(See Tehran in wintertime at http://www.summitpost.org/images/original/136589.JPG - not my photo btw)