PDA

View Full Version : Roll film backs for 4x5

Rider
10-Jun-2006, 15:21
Are there roll film backs that can do either 6x9 or 6x12?

I'd look to shoot both formats, but don't want to have to buy and carry two backs.

darr
10-Jun-2006, 15:34
There is currently this Shen Hao Model (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7627108426) available. Sinar did make one, but cannot find one for sale right now. I have no experience using this back but others may. I use various sizes of Horseman backs on my cameras.

Oren Grad
10-Jun-2006, 15:49
Sure - the Sinar Zoom 2 roll holder allows you to make pictures in 6x4.5, 6x6, 6x7, 6x9 and 6x12 formats. You can even change formats mid-roll. It's beautifully made, has a very flat film path, and is a pleasure to use. You can order one through B&H for $4,329.95.

< pause >

After you pick yourself up off the floor, you might also look at the various Chinese models currently floating around that will give you 6x12 plus smaller formats. Construction quality isn't in the same league (surprise!), but the price is right. Here's one of them, at Badger Graphic:

http://www.badgergraphic.com/store/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=122

If I wanted to shoot both 6x9 and 6x12, I'd probably just bite the bullet and carry two Horseman roll holders, one for each format. The Sinar is way more than I could justify, while the Shen-Hao and similar Chinese models are a bit crude for my taste. But lots of users are happy with them.

robc
10-Jun-2006, 16:06
Sinar Zoom II is much cheaper if you buy from http:\\www.robertwhite.co.uk

half the quoted B&H price

Jim McGrew
10-Jun-2006, 16:09