PDA

View Full Version : The "best-lensboards.com/"

Capocheny
8-Jun-2006, 17:44
Greetings,

I'm curious... has anybody here had any experiences with Doug Theall who makes lensboards?

His website is:

http://www.best-lensboards.com/

How are his products? Are they comparable to the original boards? Advantages? Disadvantages? :) :>| :(

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Cheers

Alan Davenport
8-Jun-2006, 18:10
I have no knowledge of, or experience with, Doug's lensboards. However, I've made a few of my own, and I will categorically state that large format lensboards are not rocket science. The boards in the photos on his website look good, and his prices aren't too bad.

Ron Stowell
8-Jun-2006, 18:11
I can't speak for or about Doug Theall's lens boards but I have made lens boards for my 4x5 view camera and have had very good performance from the boards that I have made. Doug's work looks to be first rate so give a try ; buy one board and see if it meets with your approval.

Hugo Zhang
8-Jun-2006, 21:14
I have done business with Doug. He made some Deardorff lens boards for me. Very nice guy and I like his boards too.

CXC
8-Jun-2006, 21:44
Another economical option is ebay seller oaklandlenscom. I got an ugly and perfectly serviceable board with a custom odd-sized hole for five bucks. Can't beat that price. Search for "Lens board custom sized". He'll even make standard sizes. They are all wood.

Joseph O'Neil
9-Jun-2006, 04:54
Another economical option is ebay seller oaklandlenscom. I got an ugly and perfectly serviceable board with a custom odd-sized hole for five bucks. Can't beat that price. Search for "Lens board custom sized". He'll even make standard sizes. They are all wood.