PDA

View Full Version : Large Format Weather Control

John H. Henderson
13-Mar-2000, 09:52
I am new to 4x5 - got a Toyo 45A in September of last year. I've already made s ome interesteing observations. Perhaps someone can explain the phenomena involv ed.

It's an absolutely still day. Not a blade of grass is moving. You choose a sma ll aperture and correspondingly long shutter time to get that depth-of-field. T he moment the film holder seats in the camera, a 40 mph wind comes from nowhere. Dust clouds build, palm trees fold in half, and small children blow by. You f inally give up and release the shutter. Blades open. Blades close. Wind dies.

Sometimes, insertion of the film holder kills the sun.

OK....here's an example of another thing I've observed.

I have the perfect angle of a lighthouse from across the parking lot of the muse um. The second I am ready to trip the release, an SUV full of tourists parks di rectly in the middle of the picture. What is odd about this is that there are D OZENS of parking spaces closer to the museum entrance. They're parked out in mi ddle of nowhere.

To show that this isn't an isolated case, I was in the historic district of a sm all town early in the morning trying to take a picture of a church. It is HOURS before any businesses open. I have the camera set, about to trip the release, when a lady drives up and parks her car on the street in front of me. Note that I am in front of a parking lot - not a business. She walks a half block by emp ty parking spaces (They're ALL empty) to see that the place she wanted to go to is closed, and comes back and drives away.

What causes these things?

M.
13-Mar-2000, 10:41
To paraphrase Flip Wilson, "The Devil Made 'em Do It."

Daniel Taylor
13-Mar-2000, 10:46