PDA

View Full Version : LF color film

binz26
1-Jun-2006, 14:25
Im new to LF and was wondering what types of 4X5 color films people feel strongly about. With 120 and 220 i've historically gone with portra, but I'm looking to try some new things...negative or chrome. any ideas?

Sheldon N
1-Jun-2006, 15:01
I'm partial to the Fuji lineup of color slide films (in quickload version). Velvia 50 was the standard for landscape, and has since been replaced with Velvia 100. Velvia 100F was never quite as popular. If you are looking for something a little less contrasty and saturated, Provia 100F is a good all around film. Astia 100F is known for being very neutral, accurate and less contrasty, great for portraits. It's also enjoyed by some as a good film for scanning since you can always add saturation and contrast in Photoshop, but it's harder to do the reverse.

I haven't tried color negative film in 4x5, primarily because I find it easier to scan color slide films. It's also cheaper to process color slide film, and more places do it. Not many places develop 4x5 C41 color negative film. All my 4x5 color work is done digitally, so that's my focus when choosing a film.

Svante Johansson
1-Jun-2006, 15:11
I think Kodak E100G is the greatest film ever, in any format, and it comes in Readyload. I love it!

Stephen Willard
1-Jun-2006, 15:12
I use Portra VC 160 and expose it at ISO 100. Portra is an amazing film with am amazing dynamic range of about 9 stops plus.

You can also do contracted development such as n-1 or n-2 just like Adams does to control contrast with the Zone system. If you have a JOBO processor you can developer the film easier then you can b&w film. It also is a lot cheaper too.

I shoot 4x5, 5x7, and 4x10 with it. The grain is almost nonexistent. When I enlarge 5x7 I am not able to use my 10x grain focuser until I reach a 16x20 enlargement size because I am not able to see the grain until I reach that size.