PDA

View Full Version : Never been in a darkroom

Norm Buchanan
29-May-2006, 11:55
Am I the only LF photographer that has never been in a darkroom? I am relatively new to photography and I scan all ny negs/transparencies and print with inkjet printers. I am always reading about the interesting things people do (processing/printing) in darkrooms and a little bit of me feels like I am missing out on something. Just curious...

Norm

Donald Qualls
29-May-2006, 12:25
Am I the only LF photographer that has never been in a darkroom?

Yep. You must have missed the orientation.

I'd rather spend time in the darkroom than in front of my computer any day. Sadly, my darkroom is also the master bathroom in the house, and my wife keeps wanting to use it for its original function (she says the small one is hard to get up from; maybe I need to install a grab bar for her).

paulr
29-May-2006, 12:30
years ago darkroom processes were the only choices. today they exist side by side with a lot of others. it's really up to you if you want to learn to make traditional prints.

while it's easy to say you're "missing out on something" by not doing it, the truth is we're always missing out on most things. i made a lot of silver prints in the darkroom over the years, but technially i was missing out on the joys of making daguerrotypes and salt prints and carbon prints ... and paintings and scuptures and lithographs and suspension bridges ....

you choose your tools and processes from among many. in doing so you decide what it's ok to miss out on. the important thing is to try to make a good choice. if you're not sure if you'd like darkroom work, maybe you have a friend who does it ... you could hang out in the dark and help out and see if you like it.

Wayne
29-May-2006, 13:28
Yes, you are the only one and yes, you are missing out on a lot. About 170 years worth. Try it and see for yourself.

Wayne

Joseph O'Neil
29-May-2006, 14:06