PDA

View Full Version : Processing advice for newbie

mcconkeyp
25-May-2006, 02:42
I am kitting myself out for LF and now have the camera, lens, dark slides, etc, etc. I even have some film and I'm just about to start using it!

My camera is a 5x7 Gandolfi, but I'll probably use the 4x5 back to start with so that my mistakes cost me less £££.

I don't yet have any way of processing the film (B&W) so I've been thinking of using a local lab - do I just hand over exposed film in dark slides or will they expect me to unload the dark slides myself?

I am setting up my darkroom and I've been trying to figure out the best way to process the film myself - I need a system that will be quick to set up and use due to limited time and a Jobo CPA with an Expert drum seems the best way to go. Does anyone have any other suggestions?

All advice gratefully received.

Michael Heald
25-May-2006, 03:52
Hello! I'm a newbie myself. I first started with an old tank that would develop 12 sheets at a time. It was cheap and worked fine. Trouble was, it took 51 ounces of chemicals per shot, so there was no such thing as a one shot developer and I had lots of jugs standing around

I read about the Unicolor developing here on the thread. I bought an 8x10 drum and a roller base. It's wonderful. I now use one shot developing and get I can develop 4 negatives at a time. Everything is very repeatable. I'll be starting to experiment with temperature control using a single incandescent bulb, since temps vary from 68 to 72 degrees depending on the outside temperature, but even without constant temperature control, with B&W, that is hardly an issue (or so I've read!)
Anyway, Unicolor drums and rollerbases pop up on E-bay frequently and are very inexpensive. Best regards.

Mike

Ralph Barker
25-May-2006, 06:13