PDA

View Full Version : Hi from the Chicago area

Norm Buchanan
24-May-2006, 16:26
Hello all,

I have found this forum very interesting and helpful so I thought it would be appropriate to join, and perhaps even contribute...

I live in Batavia Illinois and work as a particle physicist. I have been playing with LF for about 1 1/2 years and a trip to the Southwest convinced me to upgrade from the Calumet mono-rail I have been using to an Arca Swiss f-field (which arrived today - wow, what an upgrade!). I should say that I visited this forum MANY times whle trying to decide on the Arca Swiss - thank you.

I am looking forward to learning a great deal here.

Now off to practice with my new baby (sadly here in Illinois) before my return trip to Utah this fall.

Cheers,
Norm.

steve simmons
24-May-2006, 17:29
I am not sure where you are but View Camera is doing a trade show and conference in Rockford, IL June 9-11. The trade show is free and all you have to do is show up. It will be a great opportunity to meet a lot of other lf photographers. The location is the Best Western Clocktower Resort in Rockford.

steve simmons
www.viewcamera.com

Norm Buchanan
24-May-2006, 17:59
Hi Steve,

I was aware and am planning to attend some of it - I have a conflicting conference during the week so I'll probably just register for Saturday and/or Sunday. I badly wanted to see the B&W presentation by Alan Ross but I beleive it is on the Friday.

Thanks,
Norm

Ron Marshall
24-May-2006, 18:30
Hi Norm, I'm in the Chicago area as well. You might be interested in Starved Rock state park or Turkey Run in Indiana. Enjoy the Arca, great choice.

Chuck Pere
25-May-2006, 12:06
Norm,

In case you haven't seen them a couple area groups are:

http://www.midwestlargeformat.com/

And the Chicago regional forum on APUG.org.

Chuck

paulr
25-May-2006, 13:27
do you work at fermilab?

what are your thoughts on turning it into a giant, tubular view camera?

Kirk Gittings
25-May-2006, 13:48