PDA

View Full Version : Petzval questions: Focal Length, Focal Ratio of my "new" lens.

Drew Bedo
21-Jul-2023, 07:54
I have gotten a Petzval lens. I am new to this era of gesar. The lens is unmarked in any way but looks good cosmetically and has clear glass. Came complete with flange, rack and pinion, and hood. My intention is to shoot with it.

So I finally got it onto a lens board and put it on my 8x10 for a first look.

Looks to cover 5x7 inches or maybe whole plate . . .fine.

I measured the focal length at infinity from the film plane to the Waterhouse slot (correct?) at around 250mm.

I measured the clear aperture visually from the front, at around 35mm.

Doing the math: 250/35=7.1 . . . . or so depending on how tightly I squinted at the ruler.

From this I get a focal ratio of around f/7.1.

This seems slow to me from what AI understand about Petzval lenses. . .do I have that right?

Steven Tribe
21-Jul-2023, 11:33
All the early Petzvals (say 1839 - 1855) were fast - because they had to be in order to expose on the slow materials. Co-incidentally, the very shallow depth of focus created images of people which was considered attractive as well as saving on retouching time. Speed was rarely over F4 and even under F3. I have a Viennese 50’s Petzval which measures out at F2.7!

There was a gradual reduction in speed as the 20th century approached and F5 and F6 (Dallmeyer’s D series, for instance). So a computed speed of F7 doesn’t seem improbable. Many later Petzvals could be faster but have a restricting internal baffle. I don’t know whether this is because of an inferior product - or the maker trying to ensure the user gets an acceptable result in spite of lesser skills!

Drew Bedo
21-Jul-2023, 12:08
Seven: Thanks for that info.

This lens has a Nickle plated barrel, and so I suspect that it is from the turn of the 20th Century. Another thing is that the metal parts are untarnished. As I said, no markings on it at all.