PDA

View Full Version : Lens selection for architectural photography.

Guy R. Giersch
7-Mar-2000, 14:33
I'm presently focusing my photographic interests in the direction of architectur al photography and I would like to know what lens would be recommended to be abl e to cover the basics? I'm finding taht my 210mm is usually too long and my 90m m doesn't fill the frame on my 4x5 when taking exterior views of a structure? A ny recommendations? since I'm a student it would be benificial to have a couple of choices. Thanks, Guy

Ellis Vener
7-Mar-2000, 14:59
A good inbetween would be a 120mm, 135mm or a 150mm lens, but you should check a nd be sure that the lens you are looking at has a large enough image circle to fully cover your negative when making a reasonably large lateral shift , rise/fall or diagonal (combo of r/f + shift) movement. a lot of people realy think the newish Schneider 110 mm f/5.6 XL Super Symmar is the way to go

bob moulton
7-Mar-2000, 15:05