PDA

View Full Version : Cyanotype on fabric

pigpen
12-Feb-2023, 14:35
I am new to LF, and VERY new to alt processing. I've had 4 "sessions" now of cyanotype printing and I am definitely learning, actually getting results. I coated 10 sheets today and had chemistry leftover. Normally I grab a few more sheets but I've been experimenting with the humidity of the paper and only had ten ready. I coated a small area of a t-shirt and placed a neg on it. It turned out well, but the chemistry was bleeding into the fabric.

Anyone have suggestions on controlling this? I was thinking of a wax border? This is not something I see myself doing very often but I occasionally do things like this with my nieces and nephews.

Thank you.

Mike

jnantz
12-Feb-2023, 20:11
Hi Mike

there are several companies that sell pre-coated cyanotype fabric, you might email or call them directly. to ask their advice about what you might use .. I've only coated canvas (like to paint on canvas) ... im not sure if it is helpful but you might also check on alternative photography.com website to see if they have any solutions for you, I looked but wasn't really able to find something that could help but I didn't read every entry or comment/post.

good luck!

John

koraks
13-Feb-2023, 00:10
I coated a small area of a t-shirt and placed a neg on it. It turned out well, but the chemistry was bleeding into the fabric.

Just mask out the area you don't want to be printed and wash out unexposed sensitizer?

pigpen
13-Feb-2023, 13:28
Hi Mike

there are several companies that sell pre-coated cyanotype fabric, you might email or call them directly. to ask their advice about what you might use .. I've only coated canvas (like to paint on canvas) ... im not sure if it is helpful but you might also check on alternative photography.com website to see if they have any solutions for you, I looked but wasn't really able to find something that could help but I didn't read every entry or comment/post.

good luck!

John