PDA

View Full Version : Which first Rear Movement and Asymmetrical Tilt Chamonix 45F2

McAir
25-Nov-2022, 05:35
I just acquired a 45F2 with asymmetrical tilt. My question...If I use rear tilt to alter foreground perspective, should I do this before applying focus? And d0 I focus foreground or background first?

Tin Can
25-Nov-2022, 06:55
I assume you are total beginner, correct me if wrong

Get a book

First learn how to shoot without movements except focus

rfesk
25-Nov-2022, 08:37
Get a book, a magnifier of some sort and practice.

Mark Sampson
25-Nov-2022, 12:02
You might look up the instructions for Sinar cameras. Although the details of operation will be different, the principles will be the same.
I used a Sinar F2 on the job for many years, but can't recall ever using asymmetrical movements (if indeed that model has them). It's been well over a decade now!

MartyNL
25-Nov-2022, 12:25
Hi, I think you're just checking for confirmation.

As you know, large format camera control is an iterative process and I would always check focus after any camera movements.

And generally, I focus background first then adjust for foreground but I don't believe it makes any difference, if it's done the other way around.

Bernice Loui
25-Nov-2022, 12:37
Asymmetrical Tilt or Swing.. idea/concept is to place the first point of focus as essentially fixed, this allows the second point/area to be adjusted without the first point of focus shifting too much. Goal of Asymmetrical Tilt or Swing is to ease or reduce the camera movement iterations to achieve where the actual plane of focus happens a bit easier over cameras without this feature.

There is often still the need to shift/rise/fall the ground glass image after swing/tilt movements are applied due to image position shift. There is no "free lunch"..