PDA

View Full Version : Modern 300mm lens w/ 67mm filter?

William Mortensen
5-Apr-2006, 13:12
Question to the group: I'd like to get a fairly modern 300-305mm lens that takes a 67mm filter, as almost all my other lenses are set up for that size. I have a Caltar II-N (aka Apo-Sironar-N), but it takes 86mm filters, and I just can't see buying and carrying a whole `nother set in that size. Prefer at least f/6.8 or brighter. Thoughts? Thanks!

David Karp
5-Apr-2006, 13:32
I have no experience with it, but how about a 300mm f/5.6 Fujinon L? It is single coated, a Tessar, with a 343mm image circle. It is in a Copal 3. Available used only, I believe. Other options, like the G-Claron, Nikkor-M, Fujinon-C, old Geronar triplets, and similar lenses are below f/6.8. I am not an expert, but went through some of this exercise before I bought my 300mm Nikkor M.

Frank Petronio
5-Apr-2006, 13:41
I had a late Schneider 300/5.6 Xenar that was coated and 67mm, in a 14 million serial number and a thick chrome dial Copal 3. Nice lens, hard to tell from a Symmar in the final results.

Ron Marshall
5-Apr-2006, 13:44
I have a Fuji 300mm f8.5 C, crisp, light and compact.

I put on a 52 to 67mm step-up ring, as I did for two of my other lenses.

Michael Kadillak
5-Apr-2006, 14:14
305 G Claron comes in a Copal #1 and I believe takes a 67mm filter. Lots of coverage and excellent reputation. The Fuji 300mm F8.5C is a wonderful choice that is IF you can find one.

Cheers!

David Fisk
5-Apr-2006, 14:40
I'll echo Michael's reply. I have a 305 G Claron and can confirm it takes a 67mm filter, as do most of my lenses. I don't use it a lot, but I'm glad when I need it.

Ron Marshall
5-Apr-2006, 15:00
Badger has the Fuji 300mm f8.5 C in stock.

Mark Carney
5-Apr-2006, 15:55
I'm very pleased with my 305 G Claron. It has a 67mm filter size, which is what I standarized on. I use it all the time.

William Mortensen
5-Apr-2006, 16:07