PDA

View Full Version : Film scanner, buying refurbished?

Ig Nacio
27-Jul-2022, 12:07
Hi guys,

I hope you are all doing well : )!!!

I have had friends buying refurbished iPhones from Apple
with no issues after the purchase. I think they were also
allowed to get Apple Care, so it was very cool.

Some scanner brands may offer their scanners refurbished
through a dealer. One may buy extra insurance for the
scanner from the dealer for up to two, three, or four years,
if I'm not mistaken.

Is it ok to buy refurbished plus insurance, or one shouldn't
consider it?

Thank you, kind regards!

P.S. Adorama is one of these dealers selling the refurbished
plus their own insurance combo.

Peter De Smidt
27-Jul-2022, 13:35
Sure, as long as you buy from a repudiable place with a good return policy.

Edison
27-Jul-2022, 13:55
I've been using a refurb Epson V550 for several years and if it fails, I'm buying again. Yes it's 120 film max but I 3d printed a holder to scan 4x5 (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:152009).

j.e.simmons
27-Jul-2022, 14:09
I buy my refurbs directly from Epson. No problems.

Oren Grad
27-Jul-2022, 15:15
At least in the US, Epson includes a full 1-year warranty with refurbished scanners that it sells directly.

Whether to buy a service contract on any product, new or refurbished, is a separate question. The service contracts heavily promoted to consumers are often bad deals in actuarial terms.

Alan Klein
28-Jul-2022, 04:39