PDA

View Full Version : Arca swiss 6x9 for architecture photography

keng
1-Apr-2006, 11:42
Hi all.

I'm new to LF and planning to purchase Arca swiss F Metric compact 6X9 for architecture

photography.
Here're my questions:

1 Lenses lineup: 47 - 65 - 150, Good choice for architecture? Is 47 MM wide enough? Do i need
to go as wide as 35?
2 using Schneider 47 MM XL ,Do i need a bag bellow and recessed lens board(7 MM?) or just a
standard universal bellow+ recessed lens board?
3 reflex viewer, How many type are they? (I've seen Binocular and "Mono" viewer.)
4 Do I need micrometric orbix? or just "dynamix orbix" is enough?.

Any other comments are welcome!
Thanks for your help.

Kirk Gittings
1-Apr-2006, 12:02
Don't own the Arca, but I do shoot Architecure in a VC with 6x9. See www.gittingsphoto.com. So:

1) I use a 47,65,90,150,210,305. Get Copal Press shuttters if you can for multiple pops with flash. The longer focal lenghts 210, and 305, are used rarely. I have never seen the need for a 35. Too much distortion.

2) You will need a bag bellows I believe. I don't know about the recess board. Try to avoid it if you can.

3) I don't use one. No need.

4) I don't know what these are.

I use the Calumet/Cambo 6x9 roll film backs. I carry 4 of them.

Lei Meng
1-Apr-2006, 14:32
I have Arca 6x9/4x5 and 47, 72, 90, 240 lenses.

1) Looks good.
2) For 47XL, I use both bag bellow and recessed board -- even under this condition, the operation still feels tight.
3) I never used it.
4) Although I don't have micrometric orbix, I recommend you get one. It will make front tilt much easier and more precise. Moreover, since you will get a F-matric version which has geared front shift, why not get a micrometric orbix to make tilt also controllable?

Btw, if you consider buying a used Arca, let me know. I am thinking to sell my system (F-Classic).

GPS
2-Apr-2006, 04:45