PDA

View Full Version : LF on a Cruise ship

Jonathan Schneider
27-Mar-2006, 08:52
My wife and I are planning to take a cruise in Scandinavia this summer that will cruise up the fjords in Norway. Can you get sharp exposures with a 4x5 and Velvia 100 film? Or should I leave the 4x5 home and just use my dSLR?
Thanks

Ron Marshall
27-Mar-2006, 09:10
I have no direct experience, but I would imagine that when a large ship is at anchor in a fjord it should be stable enough to permit exposures of about 1/8 second or shorter.

Keep a UV filter on the lens to prevent salt deposition on the front element.

Frank Petronio
27-Mar-2006, 09:11
I don't see why you wouldn't bring it. Maybe someone else can speak from actual experience, but if you shoot at handheld speeds you should be fine -- if 100 ASA doesn't work for you I've used 400 ASA Color Neg to get fine results. Modern lenses are plenty sharp at f/11-16. I guess I'd also worry about salt spray (use a UV or a cheaper lens) and consider a handheld camera like a Linhof Technika or Graphic.

Of course you might also find the camera is a nice ice-breaker and you'll have a lot of curious new friends, which can be nice too.

Ole Tjugen
27-Mar-2006, 09:29
Engine vibrations are you biggest problem, not salt spray. A tripod will transmit the vibrations from the deck to the camera, giving blurry pictures. I've tried...

A hand held camera is the way to go on a cruise ship. I left my LF at home and brought a MF SLR, since none of my LF cameras (at that time) were particularly hand-holdable.

All the best scenes are in transit. The ship will not be at anchor in the best spots - our fjords tend to be about 300m deep, or deeper: Not good anchorage.

David A. Goldfarb
27-Mar-2006, 09:59
Just be sure not to use the Graflex SLR for aircraft carrier landings, and you should be okay.

scott_6029
27-Mar-2006, 10:04