PDA

View Full Version : Advice on lense (comparing 2 options)

AnetteB
20-Mar-2022, 09:07
Hello everyone,
Am doubting about which lens to get and would be happy get advice. I have a Linhof Master Technika with only 1 lens (150/5.6 R-stock Sironar N). I am launching a portrait project and want a longer lens (for full-frame digital, my workhorse is 85mm). Want it sharp and contrasty, not too soft. Half to 3/4 body portraits, outdoors.
Was thinking of 210 or 240 mm (have played with the idea of a 300 but uncertain about bellows; haven't really done my research on that yet, am quite new to LF). Have seen many lenses on ebay, but most would entail shipping from Japan - hesitant, if it needs to be returned.

Now the following lens is for sale at 20 min drive from my home:
1. R-stock Sinar Sinaron SE 210/5.6, 'as new' for 1000 Euro (about the same in USD, I think). A bit pricier than I would have liked, buy it is of course a huge advantage that I can see/test it before I buy it.

Then, I just saw this on sale today:
2. Nikkor 300 f9 M, 'as new', for 700 USD (with shipping from US (to Europe), and customs on top, it will cost me as much as the Rodenstock). Had not thought about this lens at all, but love the idea of such a light lens.

What to do? Any views?
Best,
Anette

Oslolens
20-Mar-2022, 09:18
Nice pictures on your website.
If you want sharp images at large aperture like f8 the SE option has an edge over cheaper lenses.
You may find cheaper, smaller lenses like 210mm Sironar-N f5.6 in most of EU with guarantee.

This is a Caltar-version of mentioned lens located in Finland https://kamerastore.com/products/calumet-210mm-f5-6-caltar-ii-n-mc-copal-1-large-format-1

As for focal length I could not tell as I don't have the camera.

Sent fra min SM-G975F via Tapatalk

AnetteB
20-Mar-2022, 09:27