PDA

View Full Version : Arca Swiss F-Metric Field C 4x5 - some beginner questions

hypermanual
23-Feb-2022, 05:12
Hello everyone,

I have a little bit of experience with wooden field cameras from photography school, but for all intents and purposes, I'm a beginner in large format photography. I'm currently planning to part ways with most of my digital stuff and invest into a 4x5 camera, dedicated mostly to architecture and cityscapes. The cameras that have caught my attention the most are monorails from Arca Swiss and Linhof (Technikardan). These things are obviously really expensive (and not that easy to find on the used market), so I would like to ask a few questions before I decide to commit to any of them.

The camera that's currently intrigues me most is the Arca Swiss F-Metric Field C 4x5. There's some info on the arca website, but I admit I have a little bit of trouble figuring out all the details of the system, hence I'm asking here.

First of all, from what I have read, the Arca F is a modular system with a lot of potential configurations, and the F-Metric Field C 4x5 is just a name for one of those, which I would be able to expand on in the future, if I so desire. This sounds pretty neat and an obvious advantage over the Linhof Technikardan, which I believe has limited customization options. A PC vs Macintosh kind of thing.

If I understand correctly, the F Metric Field C 4x5 consists of 4x5 inch rear standard paired with 6x9 cm front standard, wide angle leather bellows, a rail that folds in two and a 'metric' system of geared rise and fall movements. This 'metric' adds a little bit of weight to the package, but I remember non-geared shifts on a wooden flatbed being a bit difficult to adjust precisely, so I feel the geared movements might be worth it. However, there's also this thing that Arca calls 'orbix', coming in two versions - dynamic and micrometric - but I don't know what that does and if it's worth the cost...