PDA

View Full Version : Best 4x5 lens for portraiture in a studio

steve_p
13-Feb-2022, 07:10
Hi,
I am a landscape photographer, but would like to try some portaiture in a studio. I am wondering if I can get away with using a 210mm lens on a 4x5 camera when shooting a full length portrait, or would a 150mm lens be a better option. I am wondering if the working distance might make things a bit awkward? If there are no problems with using a 210mm, I will not have to buy a 150mm!
Cheers

xkaes
13-Feb-2022, 07:23
The 210mm is fine for portraiture. Keep in mind two potential limits -- the distance from the camera to the subject, and your bellows length.

For full length work, you need to get far enough away from the subject -- easy to check out.

For close, facial shots, you need enough bellows extension to focus -- also easy to check out.

Check out what you have first, before buying.

Ulophot
13-Feb-2022, 08:06
Hi, Steve. A calculator like this may be useful.
https://tinyurl.com/2p9x9fyj (I used the tinyurl site to shorten the link).
Plug in 4x5 for format, 210 or other focal length, a distance to subject, and then look over to Angle of View to see the horizontal (longer dimension, as they have it) measurement in feet. Use the second method, which gives the measurement when you actually focus on that distance.