PDA

View Full Version : Developer Formulas for C-41 film?

sanking
10-Feb-2022, 20:42
If you have heard of PyrocatHD you know that I am not a novice in formulating film developers for B&W film. But I know nothing of the requirement of developer formulas for C-41 type color films. I can see that there are a number of do-it-yourself developer formulas available in kits for C-41, but I would like to understand the chemistry better in order to mix my own. Any guidelines or references to information on this subject would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any information on this subject.

Sandy

Kiwi7475
10-Feb-2022, 22:24
Sandy,

Here’s some pointers:

https://www.photrio.com/forum/threads/c41-formulas.142062/

https://www.photrio.com/forum/threads/recommendations-of-books-on-how-to-make-c-41-chemistry.61242/

Not totally satisfactory, but it’s a start.

LabRat
10-Feb-2022, 22:52
Camera & Darkroom magazine had some refined formulas long ago, so look for those... (I have these on-file somewhere, but not accessible now...)

Pretty simple, just have to find CD-4 (Artcraft)...

Good luck!!!

Steve K

koraks
10-Feb-2022, 23:19
I've done quite a bit of DIY C41 and the differences between the various formulas I tried (including the ones linked to earlier) were minimal. I also found it just wasn't worth the hassle; the quality of the negatives was still not quite up to the level I get with Fuji chemistry, which also is very cheap, easy to use and lasts long. For B&W I still roll my own, but for C41 it's just not worth it for me, currently.
I do keep a small stash of cd4 at hand...for emergencies or something. I sold off most of my stock though.

The morale of all this: be clear at least to yourself why you want to do this and what you want to get out of it. Other than that, go ahead and do it; it's not too difficult to run some tests with small variations in chemistry.

Mick Fagan
11-Feb-2022, 20:37