PDA

View Full Version : shooting fine art

Savanna
4-Mar-2006, 10:03
Hello All,
I’ve browsed the archives until I’m more confused than ever.

I’m hoping a couple of you, that have years of experience shooting Fine Art, can advise.

I’m an Artist; I paint mostly large wildlife, rainforest and reef paintings that edge on realism. I paint detail, by large I mean mural size, 4’x5’ being my smallest and a 10’x24’ being my current largest on canvas.

With the new technology I can offer my clients full size reproductions. It’s a wonderful new avenue for me, but stumping me with surprising new problems! I live in the Caribbean, yes few drawbacks there except for the availability of resources, extreme shipping cost and the quality photographers have all gone digital! The problems before 9-11 were difficult enough. Shipping rolled canvases to the USA to be shot was a costly headache but an option (along the way hoping they were not damaged). since 9-11 that is mostly out of the question, and now my even-larger paintings (too large to roll) are in demand. Touch wood, that is not a complaint, I enjoy the challenge, though now I am faced with shooting my own work. An old dog learning yet another new trick, which I know I am eventually capable of, but it does take time away from what I get paid to do, so I need to be efficient in my learning and in the tools I buy. I’ve ordered books from Amazon and hope they cover the basics of “how to” shoot and lighting etc., but the mail is slow and I’m impatient… more my clients are. I need expert advice.