PDA

View Full Version : Fuji 90mm f8 SW or Nikon 90mm f8 SW

Ben
11-Oct-2021, 13:42
I'm new to LF world.

The Fuji is about half the price of the Nikon.

Anyone here know both lenses and have compared them?

Nikon seems slightly lighter at 355g, Fuji at 407g.

Thanks!

Dan Fromm
11-Oct-2021, 14:27
They are both very bad.

Buy on price and condition.

Drew Wiley
11-Oct-2021, 14:58
Yeah, both real "bad" lenses (why is Dan speaking like a teenager? - "super-baaaaad"), which is why you should get one, not even try it out, reduce the price even lower, and then watch it get instantly snatched up by someone else on this forum. Both are excellent options if you can work in the limitations of f/8 max aperture - typically no problems outdoors, but sometimes potentially an issue with dim architectural interiors. Nitpicking between Fuji and Nikon is a waste of time.
You can't go wrong with either - they're both top quality, so simply go for condition and price, all other things being equal.

Ben Calwell
11-Oct-2021, 15:35
I bought a new Nikon 90mm f8 in about 1985, and it’s still serving me well.

Kiwi7475
11-Oct-2021, 15:57
The Nikkor has a slightly larger image circle (235mm vs 216mm) that would cover 5x7 with almost no movement. If you’re thinking you may go there, get the Nikon. Otherwise just pick based on price and condition, as others say.

Even at f8, at this focal lengths, it will get dark at the edges — not great if shooting when there’s not a lot of light. The f5.6 versions are better — but come at some more weight.

There’s no perfect answer…

Bob Salomon
11-Oct-2021, 16:07
The Nikkor has a slightly larger image circle (235mm vs 216mm) that would cover 5x7 with almost no movement. If you’re thinking you may go there, get the Nikon. Otherwise just pick based on price and condition, as others say.