PDA

View Full Version : Getting the correct lens settings for a synced strobe?

Ayupchap
21-Sep-2021, 20:01
Hi all. Super new to large format photography and this is my first post.

I have been shooting 8x10 and as scary as it’s been it’s so fun and I’m loving it. So far I’ve shot outside in the daytime so results have been fine and things are working ok, lots to improve on but getting there.

I have the chance tomorrow to use a strobe light with my photos syncing it with the X socket on my camera. This is all great but I have absolutely no idea what I set my camera lens to settings wise for this. I’ve never done this before with any camera.

I have a copal no.3 Schneider-Kreuzhnach symmar 1:5.6/300 lens and have no instructions or anything for it but really I wondered what do I need to set the f stop and all that to. I am using 80 iso film but how do I know the setting and how do I calculate them?

Any help much appreciated.

Vaughn
21-Sep-2021, 20:08
Exposure will be a combination of aperture and flash (shutter speed is not a factor). And the aperture will depend on the subject distance. As I said, shutter speed will not be a big factor...unless it is long and starts recording a significant amount of ambient light.

Most flashes will have a graph showing what aperture to use for what distances.

LabRat
21-Sep-2021, 20:09
You will need a flash meter... This will give you an f stop to set the lens to...

You also need to make sure your shutter has X synchronization setting so the shutter is completely open when flash goes off...

Leaf shutters will synchronize at all speeds, but shutter speeds do not affect the strobe light, just the ambient light...

Steve K

Oslolens
22-Sep-2021, 00:01
Bring a digital camera and put it without lens in to the back of the camera. Take a 1 second picture while tripping the shutter on the lens. Bring up the histogram to see exposure. Fast learning is more fun ;)

Sent fra min SM-G975F via Tapatalk

Doremus Scudder
22-Sep-2021, 10:21