PDA

View Full Version : My positives just came out black

manuel johson
17-Feb-2006, 23:08
Hi I am totally new to 4x5. My positives are coming out black. I have reviewed my procedures with the help of your tutorials and the results are the same. I am focusing and composing, selecting f stop, making sure I close the lens, metering, selecting shutter speed, cocking the shutter, loading the QuickLoad with the lens side of the film facing forward, removing the cardboard sheet, exposing the film. Afterwards push the cardboard in and remove the film in the envelope. I am going over the steps in my head and I can not find my error. I would like to propose there is a problem with the film but I in my first batch ever I got 4 or 5 fairly well exposed frames out of 30. Today I got my second batch and I got zero out 20 plus frames. Really disappointing! I sent the film both times to Calypso Imaging in Santa Clara, CA.
I am sure the error is mine. I would be most appreciative if you gentlemen could give some direction. Maybe there is something silly and obvious to the experienced but not to me.

Mike Boden
17-Feb-2006, 23:24
My first thought would be that the film is not being retained in the Quickload holder. Instead, as you pull the sleeve out, the film is still inside. So a quick way to check that the film is inside the holder properly is to lightly feel the sleeve after you've pulled it out. It should be smooth, as if there is no film in it. If it feels bumpy, then the film is not being retained in the holder.

So that leads me to question how old/new the Quickload holder is. Also, are you using a Fuji Quickload holder, Kodak Readyload holder, or a Polaroid 545 holder? And which film are you using with this particular holder? Sometimes there can be incompatability. And if the holder is old, the retaining pin that catches on the metal clip of the film night be worn and not catching and retaining the film in the holder.