PDA

View Full Version : 5x7 B&J no longer focusing correctly - why?

paulbarden
12-Jul-2021, 10:48
I have a rather beat-up Burke & James Watson 5x7 that I've been using for several years now, and it worked well, for the most part. However, in the past year I have had problems with the focus not being correct on film. I have done tests in the past few days, taking great care to lock down the camera tightly and focus with the greatest care, and I even tested different lenses. And yet, correct focus on the ground glass results in film that has a focus shifted a bit further back in the scene. Here's a good example - this photo was made 2 days ago, and I carefully focused on the front rungs of the ladder, but you can clearly see that focus ended up about a foot further back:

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51303545071_00c808a835_k.jpg

Any suggestions as to how I might remedy this problem? This is the first time I've encountered this on one of my cameras. As far as I know, nothing has changed in how the camera is set up, or how I use it. It seems to be a problem that has crept in gradually over about a year.

Thanks.

maltfalc
12-Jul-2021, 13:44
so your gg is slightly too far back then. are you sure it didn't get flipped around at some point?

paulbarden
12-Jul-2021, 14:04
so your gg is slightly too far back then. are you sure it didn't get flipped around at some point?

Quite sure. I’ve never removed the ground glass, and the back only fits one way.

Jim Noel
12-Jul-2021, 14:16
As an aside, what lens is this?

Dugan
12-Jul-2021, 14:24
Did you stop down after focusing wide open?
Some lenses shift focus.

Jeff Keller
12-Jul-2021, 14:46
It somewhat looks like the right side is focused further back than the left side. Could there be something preventing your film holder from seating flush to the back on one end?

Jason Greenberg Motamedi
12-Jul-2021, 14:53
Did you change holders at any point? I have a few plate holders that have non-standard film to glass depths.