PDA

View Full Version : Trading my Tech IV for a Super Graphic?

Josh Root
10-Feb-2006, 00:06
So this Tech IV I have is nice and all. But I just don't think I'm a Tech IV guy.

All the improvements/acessories are too expensive. Wide angles are a problem. The pop up hood is horrible.

I just find myself wishing I had my Crown Graphic again.

So I've been thinking that maybe I should look for someone who has a Super Graphic and wants to trade up to the Linhof. I could even deal with having a Crown Graphic again, though the lack of front tilts isn't exciting. I figure the difference in value would even get me started towards getting the 65-75mm lens I want.

Am I crazy? Large format is fun, but I'm not a serious LF'er. I just use LF for various specific projects. So I want something simple and tough.

In all truthfulness, I really find myself wishing I had my Arca Swiss Discovery again. It's not like I would HAVE to have a field camera.

medform-norm
10-Feb-2006, 04:57
"In all truthfulness, I really find myself wishing I had my Arca Swiss Discovery again. It's not like I would HAVE to have a field camera. "

So why don't you trade your Linhof for another Arca? Or for another field camera that fits your needs better? We started with a Linhof and didn't really like it as well. Now we have Plaubel and Graphic View, both monorails which we use in the field. Not very foldable, but very easy in the controls. And what about a nice Horseman or Wista? They seem a little more practical to us than the Linhof, but that's a matter of opinion. Now that you know what you don't want in both Linhof and Super Graphic, you can draw up a list of specs you'd like your camera to have, post it here and see if anyone knows of a camera that meets your wants. And budget, not to forget.
Or have you done that already and the Super Graphic is the result of your queries?

Robert Ley
10-Feb-2006, 05:41