PDA

View Full Version : Center filter recommendation

Steve Gilbert
4-Feb-2006, 23:57
I've never used a center filter before, but I'm noticing some falloff with wide angles in my skies, and want to try one. Considering the price of these, it would really be great if there was a single filter that would work for all my lenses (all are 67mm thread). I have 75mm SA, Nikon 90mm f/8, and 110mm SS-XL (I probably don't really need the Nikon with these other two, but I still use it). I'd like to someday get a 58mm SA-XL. Which would be a better "universal" center filter for all these: the Heliopan 67mm, Schneider #3, or Schneider #3b? I really don't want to buy two of these things, and hope there is no reason to do so. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Bob Salomon
5-Feb-2006, 06:10
You jusy might have to: dends on the lenses.

The Rodenstock 90mm 6.8n the 72mm 4.5, the 35mm 4.5, the 55mm 4.5 and the 45mm 4.5 Grandagon and Apo Grandagon lenses all have a 67mm filter thread.

However the 90mm 6.8 and the 75mm 4.5 use one 67mm Rodenstock center filters while the 35mm 4.5, 45mm 4.5 and 55mm 4,5 Apo Grandagons all reqquire a different 67mm center filters.

It depends on the len's design as to which CF is required, Not just the filter thread.

Donald Hutton
5-Feb-2006, 07:13
Contrary to Bob's advice (if you can wade through those typos), I can vouch that a Schneider 3b works perfectly on all three of these lenses, and should you pick up the 58XL down the road, it is also the specified CF for that lens too.

Bob Salomon
5-Feb-2006, 08:42
" I can vouch that a Schneider 3b works perfectly"

That means that you have tested the various lenses you mention against any and all CF recommended for those lenses?

At one time Rodenstock recommended one center filter for all of their 67mm diameter wide angle lenses. Experience proved that one filter could not work properly for lenses whose coverages ranged from 120° to 102°. That is why they now have two 67mm CF.

David A. Goldfarb